Is A Moscow Mule Gluten Free?

Most people love to have a social beer or cocktail with friends. But those who suffer from diseases like celiac have to avoid many types of alcohol, which are not gluten-free. The Moscow Mule is a great refreshing drink with its well known gingery kick and the refreshing lime flavor and it is categorized as gluten free.

The Moscow mule, when prepared as per the original recipe, is considered gluten free since the ingredients; Ginger beer, Smirnoff Vodka and lime juice are all gluten free!!!

The drink is mentioned as gluten free in vegan diet also. Moscow mule made with gin is not considered gluten free because it is derived from gluten grains like barley.

Vodka traditionally is made from grains (usually the gluten grains like Barley, Wheat, and Rye). Vodka made from non-gluten sources, such as potato vodka or grape vodka, is usually gluten-free and may fit into a gluten-free diet better than traditional vodka options.

Smirnoff vodka is distilled from corn, and the company’s plain vodka is said to be safe, even if you can’t consume gluten-grain-based alcohol. As part of their celiac awareness campaign, the National Institutes of Health declares that alcoholic beverages distilled from gluten grains including gin are safe for people on a gluten-free diet, since distillation removes most of the gluten protein and render the final product gluten-free, at least to the 20 parts per million standards.

Most experts believe that distillation removes gluten proteins and render the alcohol made from gluten grains like barley, gluten-free. The National Institutes of Health declares that distilled alcoholic drinks are safe to drink, even if they’re derived from gluten sources.

Alcoholic ginger beers like Crabbie’s Original Alcoholic Ginger Beer is brewed as per a proprietary recipe, in which the main ingredients are ginger, sugar, lime juice, water, and ginger beer plant. It can be stated that, no grains are used in preparation. 

Generally non alcoholic ginger beer is used to prepare Moscow Mule. If somebody want to use gluten free alcoholic ginger beer, Crabbie’s Alcoholic Ginger Beer is the best gluten-free alternative to beer which is a little bit sweet and has a nice spicy gingery note.

References

http://glutenfreesurvivalguide.org/gluten-free-diet-guide/gluten-free-drinks/

http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/glutenfreefoodshoppin1/f/Is-Vodka-Gluten-Free.htm

Keep Reading Why Don't Ya?